Friday, October 23, 2009

Guinea, Geography and Climate

The country is roughly the size of United Kingdom.
Guinea with a surface area of 245,860 km sq is ,divide into four main regions,
a. a narrow coastal belt,
b. The Fouta Djallon Mountains (av. 1,000 m high),
c. the upper Guinea plains, with an altitude of 300 .; and
d. a densely forested south eastern region.
The coastal region and and most of the inland areas have a tropical climate with high humidity and temperature. There are two rainy seasons. In the north the climate is sudanic with a single rainy season and greater daily daily and seasonal temperature variations.
Peasant agriculture, pastoralism, and forestry are about equally practiced in the country. Rice culture is practiced in the floodplain areas of the north.
There are no lakes in Guinea.
Rivers, floodplains and swamps
Many of West Africa's great rivers rise in the Fouta Djallon mountains.the upper Niger has a length of 580 km within Guinea, and together with its major tributaries probably totals over 3,400 kmof waterways. The other important rivers are Gambia,the bafing headwater of the Senegal, the Konkoure, the Kolente and many others. The total length of main rivers are 6,500km. In addition there are several flood plains

associated with the rivers (especially the Niger) which cover about 2,000 km sq. during the rains.

There are several reservoirs also with hydrolic dams.
Fish production and per caput supply;
Intensive fishing takes place in the Niger