Saturday, October 31, 2009


Mayotte or Mahore , officially the Departmental Collectivity of Mayotte, is known in overseas collectivity of France consisting of a main island, Grande Terre (or Mayotte or Mahore) , a smaller island, Petite-Tre (or Pamanji), and several islets, around these two.
Mayotte is very densely populated.It is in the northern Mozambique Channwl in the Indian Ocean, between northern Madagascar and Northern Mozambique. The Territory is Geographically Is part of the Comoro Islands

but hasbeen politically separatesince the 1970s.The territory is also known as Mahore, the native name of its main Island, especially by advocates of its inclusion in the Union of Comoros.


The main Island Grande-Terre (or Mahore), geographically the oldest of the Comoros, 39 km long and 22 km wide and its highest point is Mount Benara at 2,165ft above sea level.Because of the volcanic rock, the soil is relatively rich in some areas. A coral leaf encircling much of the island ensures protection for ships and a habitat for fish.

DZaoudji was the capital of Mayotte until 1977.It is situated on Petite-Terre (or Pamanzi), whhich is of largest of several islets of adjacent to Mahore. Mayotteis a member of the Indian Ocean Commission, with a separate membership rather than as part of the Comoros.

Here is a list of 22 small islands of Mayotte.