Friday, October 30, 2009

Comoros, Introduction

It is a set of island nation, officially known as Union of the Comoros, situated in the Indian ocean on the northern end of the Mozambique channel between northern Madagascar and northeastern Mozambique. The nearest country to the Comoros are Mozambique, Tanzania, Madagascar and the
Seychelles. It is the southermost member state of the Arab League.
It is the third smallest African nation by area and sixth smallest African nation by population ( nearly 8 lacs) but with one of the highest population densities in Africa.
its name is derived from Arabic word Qamar means "moon."
The country officially consists of the four big islands and many smaller islands. namely, 1. Ngazidja, Mwali, Nzwani and Mayotte.But Mayotte was never administered by the govt. of Comoros and the voted against independence of from France. France has vetoed United nations Security Council's resolutions that would affirm Comorian soverignityover the Island. In addition, a 29 March 2009 referendumon Mayotte's becoming an overseas department of France in 2011 was passed overwhelmingly by the people of Mayotte.
Comoros is one of the poorest country of the world with its rank 168 and GNI per capita, atlas method est.2003 and from the bottom 38th. In other forms of measurement IMF,WB and CIA per capita ppp method (nominal) est. 2007,2007 and 2008 respectively.

Members of Arab League