Saturday, December 19, 2009

Sudaan, Govt. and Politics

Govt. and Politics of Sudan: Since independence in 1956, the Sudan has witnessed several constitutions and regime changes, incuding military coups in 1985 and 1989. On seizing power in 1989, the Rvolutionary Command Council (RCC) for national salvation abolished the transitional constitution of 1985, the National Assembly,and all political parties and trade unions and ruled by decree.
The Govt. of National Unity (GNU) -the National Congress Party (NCP) and Sudan People's Liberation Movement formed a power sharing Govt. under 2005 Comprehnsive Peace Agreement (CPA); the NCP which came to power by miltary coup in 1989, is thee majority partner , the agreement stipulates national elections in 2009.
All executive and legislative powers vested in RCC For National Salvation (RCC_NS), fifteen member body of military officers.RCC-NS Chairman Bashir designated president of the republic and Prime Minister, RCC-NS, appointed members of council of Ministers,or cabinet, governors of States and judges of courts.Govt.'s authority of one-third southern of sudan limited to several towns in which miitary garrisons were based , rest of south controled by SPLA.
Politics;Multiparty politics , banned after the 1989 coup, were re-introduced in 1999. The national Congress Party (formerly the Islamic national Front(NIF),was the only legal party, continued the dominate the political scene in the years immediately following . Other political associations active in the Sudan include the Umma Party (UP), the Alliance of the people's Working Forces (APWF), the Sudan People's liberation Movement (SPLM), and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) , an association of several opposition movements. Although the RCC-NS banned all the political parties in 1989, it tolerated political activity of national Islamic Front. All other parties persecuted and their leaders had reorganised abroad.
Umar al-bashir tookpower in the june 1989, Principal Govt. Official:
President, Prime Minister, and Commander in Chief of the Armed forces- Lt.Gen.Omar al-Bashir.
First Vice-president-Salva Kiir,
Vice-President-Ali Osman Mohamad taha
Foreign Minister- Lam Akol.
Atlas,Manute Bol, ex-slave