Monday, May 11, 2009

Tanzania, zanzibar

Zanzibar is a set of islands ( 1/5th. of Andaman, India) on Indian Ocean, 15-30 miles off the east coast of Africa near Tanganyika. There are numerous small islands of which two are large ones; Unguja (the main island, informally referred to as Zanzibar), and Pemba.
Zanzibar , once a separate state with a long trading history within the Arab world, united with Tanganyika to form Tanzania in 1964 to enjoy a separate status of high degree of autonomy within the union. The capital of Zanzibar, located on the island of Unguja, is Zanzibar city with its old quarter known as Stone Town, and is a world's heritage site.
The Michenzani apartment blocks in Stone Town, once the pride of East German development cooperation with Zanzibar
The Sultan's Palace in Stone Town, as seen from the house of Wonders
Stone Town
Stone Town with Sultan's Palace