Saturday, June 25, 2011

Movement Against Colonial Rule

To expand the colonial rule throughout India the British undertook several measures.1. to occupy the areas governed by the kings they enforced the annexation policy was a deadly weapon for conquest which increased the East India Company rule to the elevation of glory. The annexation policy was known as the Doctrine of Lapse. The Doctrine of Lapse was based on the forfeiture for the right rule in the non-appearance for a natural successor. By Doctrine of Lapse policy the province of Satara was annexed in 1848, the state of Sambhalpur in 1849, the state of Jhansi in 1853 and the state of Nagpur in 1954 was also annexed.
Additional system of annexation brought victory. The state of Punjab was annexed in 1849 after the Second Anglo Sikh war. The state of Burma also known as Pegu in 1852 was annexed. In 1853, the territory of Berar and in 1856, Oudh was also annexed By this way they occupied during 1848-1858 Satara, Nagpur, Jhancy, Sambalpur, and many other Kingdoms.After the death of the King of Tanjore and Nawab of Carnatak  their titles as king and Nawab were abolished.As the loan of Hyderabad were unpaid, they captured the vast fertile lnd of cotton at Berar. From 1831 Mysore came under the rule of British. Though the King got his pension but his descendants were deprived of getting it. For misruleof the king of Audh, the map of the province of Audh had been wiped out from the map of India since 1856.
After the demolition of the Kingship, they closed their council of Ministers. As a result the members were deprived of  their allownces, The kings also closed their set of soldiers. During the time of draught or flood there were loss of harvest . but the farmers didnot get any help from the British and hence the economic condition of the farmers became depressed. The British withdrawn the prestiguous position of the family members of the Kings for which they were also agrieved. For all these reasons the Indian people, specially the farmers under the leadership of the feudal lords began to revolt. The colonial policy for the tribes was not friendly, they had also joined the revolts. as a result several revolts took place in the whole India. This happened since the first half of nineteenth century. The British had to stop all these revolts during 1801-1805 and again from 1813 -1914 and 1831 by lathi charge and other forms of suppression.
In 1807 the whole of Delhi was in armed revolt. In 1814 armed Rajput farmers , in 1817-1818 farmers of Orissa, in 1826-1829people of Pune were in revolt.