Sunday, May 12, 2013

West Bank and Gaza - History (contd-1)

1916-22 Proposals: Three proposals for the post WWI administration of Palestine. The red line is the "International Administration" proposed in the 1916 Sykes–Picot Agreement, the dotted blue line is the 1919 Zionist Organization proposal at the Paris Peace Conference, and the thin blue line refers to the final borders of the 1923-48 Mandatory Palestine.

1947 (Actual): British Mandate of Palestine, showing Jewish settlements in Palestine as at 1947 in blue. The Jewish population had increased from 83,790 in 1922 to 608,000 in 1946.

1947 (Proposal): Proposal per the United Nations Partition Plan for Palestine (UN General Assembly Resolution 181 (II), 1947), prior to the 1948 Arab–Israeli War. The proposal included a Corpus Separatum for Jerusalem and extraterritorial crossroads between the non-contiguous areas

1948-67 (Actual): The Jordanian occupied West Bank and Egyptian occupied Gaza Strip (note the dotted lines between the territories and Jordan / Egypt), after the First Arab-Israeli War, showing 1949 armistice lines.

Current: Extant region administered by the Palestinian National Authority