Thursday, January 22, 2009

The Congo (continued)

The Teke Kingdom signed a treaty with the French in 1883 against the protection of himself and the land and gave some portion of land which was governed by the French. Pierre Savorgnan De Brazza secured north side of Stanley Pool and governed that from 1886 - 1897. From that time Congo was known as Congo Brazzaville.
Mausoleum of Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza.
The companies that were granted concessions in Congo abused their African workers to the extent that reports reached France, which eventually restricted the use of forced labour . In 1910 four colonies were brought together administratively as French Equatorial Africa,with Brazzaville as capital.
French Colony in Africa French Congo

No comments: