Monday, May 2, 2011

Cornwallis and India (contd-2)

 Governors of the Presidency of Fort William (Bengal), 1774–1833

#NameImageGovernor fromGovernor until
1Warren HastingsWarren Hastings greyscale.jpg20 October 17731 February 1785
2Sir John Macpherson
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svg1 February 178512 September 1786
3The Earl Cornwallis[1]Lord Cornwallis.jpg12 September 178628 October 1793
4Sir John ShoreJohnShore.jpg28 October 1793March 1798
5Sir Alured Clarke
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svgMarch 179818 May 1798
6The Earl of Mornington[2]Richard Wellesley 2.JPG18 May 179830 July 1805
7The Marquess CornwallisLord Cornwallis.jpg30 July 18055 October 1805
8Sir George Barlow, Bt
Sir George Barlow, 1st Bt from NPG crop.jpg10 October 180531 July 1807
9The Lord MintoGilbert Eliot, 1st Earl of Minto by James Atkinson.jpg31 July 18074 October 1813
10The Earl of Moira[3]Francis, 1st Marquess of Hastings (Earl of Moira).jpg4 October 18139 January 1823
11John Adam
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svg9 January 18231 August 1823
12The Lord Amherst[4]Lordamherst 1820.jpg1 August 182313 March 1828
13William Butterworth Bayley
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svg13 March 18284 July 1828
14Lord William BentinckLord-william-bentinck.jpg4 July 18281833