Saturday, September 22, 2012

Politics of Lesotho

Politics of Lesotho takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic constitutional monarchy, whereby the Prime Minister of Lesotho is the head of government, and of a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of Parliament, the Senate and the National Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature
The National Assembly of Lesotho is the lower chamber of the country's bicameral Parliament.
e • d Results of the 26 May 2012 National Assembly of Lesotho elections
Democratic Congress (DC)218,36639.5841748New
All Basotho Convention (ABC)138,91725.1826430Increase13
Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD)121,07621.94121426Decrease36
Basotho National Party (BNP)23,7884.31055Increase2
Popular Front for Democracy (PFD)11,1662.02123Increase2
National Independent Party (NIP)6,8801.25022Decrease19
Lesotho Peoples' Congress (LPC)5,0210.91011Steady
Basotho Democratic National Party (BDNP)3,4330.62011Steady
Marematlou Freedom Party (MFP)3,3000.60011Steady
Basotho Congress Party (BCP)2,5310.46011Steady
Basotho Batho Democratic Party (BBDP)2,4400.44011Steady
Lesotho Workers' Party (LWP)2,4080.44011Decrease9
All Democratic Corporation (ADC)1,9330.35000Steady
Lekhotla La Mekhoa le Moetlo (LMM)1,6910.31000Steady
Areka Covenant Front for Development (ACFD)1,2270.22000Steady
Sankatana Social Democratic Party (SSDP)1,0810.20000Steady
African Unity Movement (AUM)7140.13000Steady
White Horse Party (WHP)2520.05000Steady
Invalid/blank votes12,725
Registered voters/turnout1,127,98050.04