Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Ottoman Empire

The Ottoman Empire (Ottoman TurkishModern Turkish: ), sometimes referred to as the Turkish Empire or simply Turkey, was a contiguous transcontinental empire founded by Turkish tribes under Osman Bey in north-western Anatolia in 1299. With the conquest of Constantinople by Mehmet II in 1453, the Ottoman state was transformed into an empire.

A historical map showing eyalets (administrative regions) of Ottoman Empire in Europe and Asia in 1890.
During the 16th and 17th centuries, in particular at the height of its power under the reign of Suleiman the Magnificent, the Ottoman Empire was one of the most powerful states in the world – a multinational, multilingual empire, controlling much of Southeast Europe, Western Asia, North Africa and the Horn of Africa.
At the beginning of the 17th century the empire contained 32 provinces and numerous vassal states, some of which were later absorbed into the empire, while others were granted various types of autonomy during the course of centuries.
With Constantinople as its capital and control of vast lands around the Mediterranean basin, the Ottoman Empire was at the centre of interactions between the Eastern and Western worlds for over six centuries. It was dissolved in the aftermath of World War I; the collapse of the empire led to the emergence of the new political regime in Turkey itself, as well as the creation of the new Balkan and Middle East.
 In some Western accounts, the two names "Ottoman" and "Turkey" were often used interchangeably. This dichotomy was officially ended in 1920–23, when the Ankara-based Turkish regime favoured Turkey as a sole official name, which had been one of the European names of the state since Seljuq times.

Ottoman Empire and WWI . Umar, A. (Director). (2010). Ottoman Empire: World War I-Documentary Part 2 [Motion Picture].